I’ll see you in the morning.

That’s what my son told me this morning after shaking my hand as I was ready to walk out the door.   Actually, I’ll see him at dinner time but he was trying to be so proper, that I couldn’t stand to correct him.

He’s such a good kid.

I scooped him up to give him a hug before I turned to leave for work. I feel a tiny pat on my back and a whisper in my ear, “it’s ok mommy. I’ll see you later, sweetheart (which actually sounds more like fweepheart, with a southern accent. he mocks me for calling him sweetheart all the time). i can’t go to work with you. I’ll be good. you NEED to put me down now mommy…

I guess I’m the one with separation issues here….

~ by Kris on January 14, 2008.

4 Responses to “I’ll see you in the morning.”

  1. This was just so sweet! What a wonderful kid, and what a wonderful mom. Your posts make me wistful for the days when my own kids were small.

  2. @ Moonbeam: thanks for the comments! i keep wishing of days when HE was smaller too. lol. they grow up so fast!!!

  3. Awwww………..They’re so sweet when they’re little.

    My oldest is going to kindergarten this year, and I told him that I would cry when he went. He said, “Don’t cry, I’ll come home”.

  4. @Alyson: I am almost in tears even THINKING about kindergarten… and it’s two years away for me!

Leave a Reply

